“4 Star, The greatest Hollywood musical ever made!” ~Roger Elbert

Gene Kelly, Donald O’Connor and Debbie Reynolds star in this ,arguably, the best musical ever made. It’s about when Hollywood went from silent movies to the ‘talkies’ and how hard it was because most of the actors and actress had pretty bad voices! I love the musical numbers! Arthur Freed was the songwriter, and the music was by Nacio Herb Brown. The movie was directed by Gene Kelly and Stanley Donen. I didn’t care for the pairing of Kelly and Reynolds. I LOVE the songs, “Moses Supposes”, “Singing in the Rain”, “You Are My Lucky Star” (which was taken out, but is now on the dvd), and “Make Them Laugh” (which was ‘borrowed’ from Cole Poters “Be A Clown”. This movie also has Jean Hage, Millard Mitchell, adn Cyd Charisse. I give this a movie a B-.Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at PhotobucketPhoto Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

